Hello all!

S

slamigo

Hi there,

Just introducing myself and the rig. My name is Mike and I'm married with 3 kids. We live out near Carp.
I have been building this jeep up for about 2 years now and it's nowhere near where I want it to be, but it's definitely getting closer. I don't winter drive the jeep and the plan is to begin working on a frame off restoration this winter or spring. I am sick of fighting the rust.

Here are the mods so far and also a list of things to come:

Black 89 YJ
SOA
4'' lift springs...
Please login to view full content. Log in or register now.

G

Gadzooks

Yeppers good looking Trail truck ya got there. If you've still got those stock yj springs lying around, I'll gladly take em off yer hands. :stir:

Loco

I'd wheel it
Welcome. X3 on the nice truck. What kind of wheel flares are those? Never seen any like that before.

S

slamigo

If you've still got those stock yj springs lying around, I'll gladly take em off yer hands.

Sorry, I don't have the original springs. When I bought this rig, the previous owner had set it up for some major mall crawlin. The 4" super stiff lift springs were not my choice and they'll be available whenever I get the RE 1.5" springs, which should be next summer or fall.
The previous owner had it set up with:
SOA (5.5-6" of lift)
3" body lift
1.75" shackle lift
4" lift springs
scary booty-fab welded z-bar drag link
ridiculous stereo system with subs etc
40" TSLs on the stock axles
That was about 14.25"-14.75" of lift. :(
Here's a pic of the old steer set up:

Here's a pic of the new steer set up:

I removed the body lift, the shackle lift and it now sits on 35" tires.
I put on a Teraflex highsteer set up with custom chromoly draglink and those beefy Dodge TREs that have the same taper as the jeep ones.
I replaced the D35 (it imploded into many pieces - go figure) with a D44.