I'm a Newbie

J

Joust

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to 4x4. I have started looking for the proper platform on which to start a rig.
I am looking for a Toyota. ideally something 1985 or older so I can have a solid front axle. I'm not fussy whether its a truck or a 4runner, but if its a truck it should have a ext cab. I have an 1986 single cab which I'll either use for parts, trade or sell.
I also have a 1986 Jeep Grand Wagoneer. This thing is too big for my tastes. I believe I will pass this rig on to someone who will...
Please login to view full content. Log in or register now.

R

Root Moose

If I were starting from a blank sheet of paper and wanted a Toyota I'd probably take a hard look at FJ40s. A newer pickup with a front axle swap would be nice.

Otherwise Samurais and SWB Jeeps are hard to beat for a dedicated wheeling machine.

Tell me about the FSJ. :D

J

Joust

I'll consider anything at this point but sorta discounted the FJs due to cost.

aweber

This thread is :rainbow:
Staff member
Club Member
I'll consider anything at this point but sorta discounted the FJs due to cost.

Yah, FJ's are not cheap to build, and are heavy sluts :( Bullet proof though :)

Best bang for the buck is an 85 truck/4runner with 63" Chevy's in the rear and rears up front..

Next would be 86 and up with an SAS....

Cannot argue with the bang for the buck with Sami's though, but a LWB would be desirable for stability....

Adrian

aweber

This thread is :rainbow:
Staff member
Club Member
He wants something capable that can be comfortably daily driven.

I would suggest a Toy on 33's, no more... Even IFS will be fine, something along the line of Terry's truck...

You don't need any more for all the trails around here..

R

Root Moose

I have to agree with John. The issue with early Toyotas is finding one that is rust free.