New to Area.

J

J686

Hello all,

My name is Chris Johnson and I'm a Vehicle Tech doing my OJT at Garrison Petawawa.
My wife, little one and I got posted to Pet on 25 April.
We enjoy the outdoors; camping, anything on the water, hikes, etc.
We are currently in the midst of trading my 05 Tacoma for a 05 X-Terra. I'm going to miss that truck, its been amazing to us. Great fuel economy, reliability and comfort.
It has the 68 ltr tank and I pull 600km to a tank city/hwy regularly. I come from a family of VW TDI's...
Please login to view full content. Log in or register now.

98AT

Welcome....just a curious question for ya, since your coming from a Tacoma did you not have any interest in 4runner's? Xterra is a nice SUV also just thought I would ask.

J

J686

For sure, love the Runners, but the body style comparable to this X-Terra is when they went really soft. Less emphasis on off road and more on comfort for the city. All in my opinion anyways!
I was also hoping for a manual and those Runners don't come stick. My fav SUV would be your body style, but since it's going to be our only vehicle for a period, we opted for a slightly newer vehicle.
We also managed to work a decent deal on the X-Terra and the wife likes it too, so those are all the points I'm worried about!
Before we had our little one, she was a Service Adviser back at the Toyota dealer in Kitchener and she saw a lot of your vintage Runners coming in for big repairs so I think that also scared her away from that choice.
I used to have a 240sx, so it's bringing back some brand memories, albeit I'm a lot further from the asphalt! lol.

Thanks for the welcome!

chunkytrunks

That's MR.EX Pres to you!
Club Member
Welcome to ovo. Keep an eye out on the event section. I will be posting a run shortly perfect for your truck. Just gotta hammer out a date

J

J3ster

Hey Chris,