Rebuilding a 78-79 Ford D60, looking for advise

O.D.

Club Member
Over the weekend i started playing around more with the front end, testing clearance, etc... I had the wheels turned full right / left a few times. The following day, on each end they were leaking oil a fair amount. (Is this normal or have I actually overfilled the diff?)

I threw one side up on jacks and there's allot of play. Started pulling apart one side and the components are badly pitted. So, considering i am not going to have the TJ up and running this year, i figured i'd rebuild...
Please login to view full content. Log in or register now.

aweber

This thread is :rainbow:
Staff member
Club Member
Had good luck with this place for D60 stuff:

https://www.4wdfactory.com/store/categories/Dana-60/

I think I just got my spindle nut tool from Keith at NAPA. You can borrow it if you like.

Solid drive flanges would be a bad thing on a street driven rig IMHO.

My seals leak as well, since I changed to the Yukon axles. It is pretty easy to nick the seal when you put the axles in.

Get the Poly needle bearing replacements for in the spindle while you are at it:

https://www.trail-gear.com/TG/Longf...on/i_0_0_4382/_301694-2-KIT.aspx#.VC7PkVeo3ao

Kunker

Administrator
Club Member
I'm with Adrian - skip the slugs. The hubs will be a weak link, but worth it for a street driven vehicle. 35spl and Dynatrac locking hubs would be pimp, but $$$.

O.D.

Club Member
Thanks guys.. Also just stumbled upon

[FONT=Calibri, sans-serif]http://quad4x4.com/ as a good site for data/parts (Don't know on prices yet).

One thing i am struggling on though is the spindle nut tool. Visually, i see 8 slots. BUT all data to date refers me to either a 6 or 4 slot tool.

I cannot find the BOM (Probably sanded off) but am certain it's a '78-79 D60.

Adrian if you were closer for sure i'd be borrowing it :) Thanks for the offer though.
[/FONT]

Kunker

Administrator
Club Member