In over my head!

J

jamesfit77

Hey guys, I'm new to off roading and decided to get my feet wet by purchasing a 1985 m1009 blazer. It's a 6.2 diesel with a 2 1/2" lift and 33's. Soooo cool, lol except that I know nothing about auto mechanics and have endless gremlins with my charging system. Now it should be said that one of the reasons I bought the truck was to educate myself a little about basic maintenance, but wasn't expecting the crash course I ended up with. After replacing the starter solinoid, both batteries, and...
Please login to view full content. Log in or register now.

B

Big-Hoe

Diesel K5, wicked, finally someone that can pull my 96' Tahoe without breaking a sweat. Congrats on figuring out your problem. I'd bet that everyone on this site has been fooled by a bad ground once or twice. Post some more detailed info on your starting problem, I'm sure you'd get some good feedback. Get her fired up and come to one of the two trail runs tomorrow. One in Burnstown (the Gorge) and one in Carp. I'll be at the Carp run. My advice on fullsize Chevy's: CARRY SPARE U-JOINTS! The cheap ones break often. The top of the line break often and take other parts with them! Don't bounce or hop on rocks while on the throttle/spinning the tires. Oh, and if Logan dares you to go through a mud pit in 2WD believe me, it won't work out. :lmao:

Kunker

Administrator
Club Member
Cranks but won't start I presume? Not much to a 6.2 for starting other than glow plugs and fuel. Look up the expected resistance on the GP's, test what you have, and see if they are shot. If they are good, see if you get voltage down to the plugs when expected. My dad would bypass the stock GP wiring and run them to a switch with a blinker relay in between to cycle the plugs.

Good luck, and welcome to OVO.ca!

J

jamesfit77